I Swear I Am Not Making This Up

This is an update for my last post, “The Impossible Prom Dress” https://howhardcoulditbe.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/the-impossible-prom-dress/

So with prom only 2 days away, I realized that I had misscut the largest piece of the dress.  I went back to the fabric store and got more of the fabric, stretching it out over a large cutting table.  As I was laying the bizarrely-shaped pattern piece over the pink chiffon, I heard a tired voice beside me.

“Oh my god.  Is that Vogue 2890?”  I turned to see the haggard face of another mom, scanning the table with contempt.

“Yes, it is.  Don’t tell me you’re a victim, too?”

“Prom is in 2 days,” she replied with a frown.  Suddenly, my heart fell into my stomach.

What school does your daughter attend?

Oh…..sh…oot.  my life was flashing before my eyes.  If there are any guys reading this, you must understand that the main reason for sewing a prom dress is to ensure that no one else shows up in the same dress.  To a teenage girl, this is the ultimate humiliation, especially if she looks better in the dress than you do.  The thought that we had invested all of this time and she would still suffer this fate was unthinkable.  Time stood still as her eyes widened, too.

“Niwot, ” she answered, half wincing.

“Nope,” I anxiously grinned.  “We’re safe.” It felt like the speeding semi barreling toward my stalled car had just swerved to the left, leaving me unscathed.  I could breathe again.

She showed me her fabric and I showed her mine.  We commiserated for a few minutes about the complexity of the pattern and the obtuse directions that were so hard to decipher.  The encounter only lasted 3 minutes, but it really lifted my spirits.

It felt great to know that I wasn’t alone.  Here was this other mom experiencing the same angst and doing her best to show her daughter how much she is loved by giving of herself to create this gown that will probably only be worn once in her life.  I know it sounds crazy, but it’s one of those events that we’ll bring up for the rest of their lives.  Hopefully, they will bring it up with a tear in their eye as they recall the time we slaved for weeks to create a one-of-a-kind costume that embodied the spirit of boundless motherly love.

But of course if THAT doesn’t happen, at least we’ll have guilt.  “I don’t want to hear you complain about this!  57 and a half hours of labor and then there was the prom that I spent 50 hours behind my sewing machine, making Vogue 2890!”

Hey, I’ll take what I can get.

We survived and are still smiling!

My book, Dating, Sex, & Jesus is now available at Amazon.com. Please “like” the Dating, Sex, & Jesus Facebook page at: www.facebook.com/DatingandJesus for fun and interesting content and book excerpts in your feed. Thanks!

About howhardcoulditbe

While this started as a chronicle of my many (sometimes ill-conceived) "Do It Yourself" projects, it has morphed into a journal of my 9-year journey as a single Christian woman striving to live by God's design.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Swear I Am Not Making This Up

  1. The dress looks great, your daughter is cute and the mom is definitely still HOT!

    blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. emjayandthem says:

    The dress turned out beautifully and both of you look beautiful and happy to have had the experience! 🙂 Cheers, MJ

  3. Megan says:

    Hi, I was wondering if you had any pictures that showed it from the front. I’ve tried to find other pictures of people who made it without the roses, but this is the only one that exists, so I’m just wondering what it looked like?

    Thanks! And you did an awesome job by the way, it looks very professional.

  4. Hi there! The dress looks beautiful. I actually am using this pattern to make my wedding dress. I ordered the pattern online and haven’t received it yet, but I am trying to collect the other materials. Just curious what the 1/2″ ribbon is used for. Thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

