The Glory of Autumn

Today is October 15th and it is 80°.  This is a good thing.

Above Georgetown; notice the aspen on the distant peaks

The trees in my neighborhood have been slowly responding to cooler nights, as have my furry companions, squeezing under the covers with me after I’ve fallen asleep.  Colorado’s native trees turn gold, and while a vast valley of aspen can take my breath away, I treasure the candy apple red fireworks of the occasional amur maple or scarlet oak.

Is Autumn my favorite season?  This week it is.  The colors are breathtaking from dawn to dusk, and the giant orange harvest moon I enjoyed this week took the show into overtime, hanging low in the cool, deep blue sky.

The day begins, bathing the Flatirons with glorious pink light.  It is surreal, and I find it hard to drive through the small farms just east of Boulder.  It feels nearly sacrilegious to keep my eyes on the road and I am tempted to pull over and just stare at the loveliness of the morning.  There are seven hot air balloons in the east, hovering over the Earth like cheerful flowers blooming in the sky.  I am glad to see others honoring daybreak in quiet celebration.

The house is cold, but the day is perfect, and the warm sun on my back feels like a loving embrace.  The rain that blessed my garden last weekend brought a dusting of snow to the high country, highlighting the rocky contours of Long’s Peak and Meeker in the distance.   Hard to believe they could be even more majestic now than they appeared just a week ago.

The sun sets and everything is orange, making the turning leaves nearly glow.  It lasts for only a few minutes, but I am blessed when I catch this magical time.  It jars me out of my traffic frustration and helps me to feel truly grateful for all that I have.  I slow down and let the car behind me pass.  I say a prayer of gratitude; that God has made this beautiful place, this beautiful day, and has given me the eyes to see it.  I am rich.

My book, Dating, Sex, & Jesus is now available at Amazon.com. Please “like” the Dating, Sex, & Jesus Facebook page at: www.facebook.com/DatingandJesus for fun and interesting content and book excerpts in your feed. Thanks!

About howhardcoulditbe

While this started as a chronicle of my many (sometimes ill-conceived) "Do It Yourself" projects, it has morphed into a journal of my 9-year journey as a single Christian woman striving to live by God's design.
This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Glory of Autumn

  1. Oh! I am home sick. I grew up in Colorado and this time of year, even after all the years I have been gone, I long to be home.. The aspens, the chill in the air, the beautifuol sunset, the majestic mountains, you captured it all and beautifully. My heart hurts. Thank you so much.

  2. I agree with you … Autumn is glorious .. there’s just no other word for it.

    Today it’s blustery and sunny with leaves blowing and the smell of them in the air; I have spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove and inside, looking out, is the place to be.

    Cheers! MJ

  3. Beautiful photos. I love the colors of fall.

Leave a Reply

